Blog 18: Masterchef

This is most uninspired blog I am writing which doesn’t start with the lament that i don’t have anything to write about. I have done that twice, one more time will be a too many, I guess. And also I will have my moments again!

Digression: I came across a blog where a professional photographer has created a collage of  one picture per day , 35 pics. 🙂 I am not the only nut case I guess!

Going back to the topic. It’s about the TV program called by the same name “Masterchef”.

I have watched the Australian Masterchef. And i liked it so much. I now try to watch Masterchef USA whenever the time on hand permits.

I am complete sucker for such TV programs; Kylie Kwang on TLC, Nigella Bites. thankfully all are telecasted late as in after 9 PM. So many a times I can watch these.  And it helps that husband dear is ok as long as you let him flip through channels now and then 🙂

I never watched the Masterchef india somehow.

Masterchef is more of a competition than only a cookery show as the others mentioned above. The judges are touted to be the best and the competition is so fierce.

What I like about the show is the stuff they cook. I have never eaten 99% of those stuff. I don’t eat non-vegetarian food hence chance of me eating most of them will remain the same mostly. But oh I love the whole kitchen, the equipment, those walk in storage areas.  The styles and techniques they use.

The most fascinating part of the cookery shows or competition is the most simple one: chopping. The way all these pros chop is a delight for me. Perfect knife movements and those various styles of chopping. I have tried to copy but i haven’t been  able to manage anything close to that. Either i have the wrong knife or i ain’t doing it right!

Ovens, microwaves and high-speed blenders are normal but equipments like blast chiller are new for my limited knowledge.

And then they plate it so beautifully… though the portions are just enough for one to taste. But guess that’s how those high end phirang restaurants serve!

The funny part in Masterchef is that the same participant who might have won the previous round ends up in the worst three the next time. Some people are good consistently too!

Overall it’s a fun program to watch , and sometimes inspires to try one’s hand at something a little more exotic!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Blog 18: Masterchef

  1. Cristina says:

    I am so disappointed , jackie should have gone home!!! She didn’t finish the competition, no dessert !!!!! In the past I have seen people going straight home for that!!!! Not fair at all, very very upset!!!!

Leave a comment